Blue Window Dress

window-dress-front

See if you can spot little Kylo in the background!

This year has started out with a full on sprint.  Trey and I are moving to a 2-bedroom apartment in March where I will take over the second bedroom and make it a sewing room.  (It will also be a Study with a couch and our 4 bookshelves… but I GET MY OWN LITTLE STUDIO!!!)  I have already started planning on what new organizational things I really want to make everything just right!

dress-maniquin-front

This dress I am still trying to figure out how much I really like it.  The fabric is from JoAnn’s and the pattern is Cynthia Rowley 1104. I have already had to alter this dress 3 times to get it to the point where I feel comfortable in it.  Originally the dress was a size 14, but after all the alterations it is probably at a size 10 now.  The thing that I have reservations about is how full the skirt is.  The dress front is one whole pattern piece and the skirt is made out of the darts in the front, however there isn’t as many darts in the back, so the skirt is only full in the front.

dress-back

The lines were matched nicely in the back, until I put the zipper in.  Let me know your opinions about this dress. I seriously keep getting mixed reviews about who likes it and others are giving me suggestions as to how to make it better.

PUPPY UPDATE:

Look at little baby Rey!  She loves wearing her headbands that her Grandma made her 🙂

puppy-rey

HAPPY CRAFTING!

One thought on “Blue Window Dress

  1. Ohhh I hope you keep us updated about the new sewing studio! I love seeing how people organize their spaces!

    It’s a beautiful dress, but I know what you mean about the skirt being full in the front and not in the back, I have 3 skirts like that… They always make me feel just a little bit childish because all of my skirts were full in the front but not in the back when I was in kindergarten!

    What kind of dog is Rey?

    Like

Leave a Reply

