Colorado Beads!

Hey everyone!  This past thanksgiving Trey and I went on a road trip with some amazing friends to Colorado!  One of our friends just recently moved out there and we figured it was time for a visit!  There was this really cute bead shop on the towns main street and Trey said we couldn’t leave until I picked out something nice!  I’ve just finally gotten around to making something from them because I have been in a bit of a creative funk lately.

I had a lot of fun making this set of jewelry!  The beads I got in Colorado are the turquoise, all the other materials were already apart of my jewelry making stash.  I can’t wait until I have a job so I can actually dress up everyday and wear all of the jewelry that I haven’t really worn since sophomore year of college.

Moving to New Jersey has really made me start to wonder what it really is that I want to do in life.  It has also given me time to reflect about what used to make me happy.  I haven’t been sewing a lot recently because I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching about what job I really want.

All of this reflecting is due to my college experience not really being what I wanted.  I wound up graduating from the wrong major where one professor was actually out to fail and humiliate me I front of the class as much as he could.  Aside from that aspect everything else was amazing!  I meet the love of my life!  I make long lasting friendships with people mostly outside my major (or people who later transferred out of my major).  Plus after three years of hard work I founded a chapter of Sigma Alpha Iota and recruited our 16 founding members.  It has since grown to initiating over 40 members!

All I know now is that I’m taking life slow, but still by the horns.  I know that one day it would be awesome to have a store front and selling custom made women’s clothing, however for now I think I will keep the business small for friends, family, and dance companies (or other small commissions).

I figured for now I will find a job that I really do enjoy and have crafting on the side again, but for fun.  I have been too stressed over perfection that even when it is my own garment, I cannot really enjoy my hobby.  My hope is that at least once a week I can finish something for the blog.  I will slowly regain my inspiration 🙂

Lately I have been doing a whole bunch of sketching.  I am really starting to like a lot of my ideas, now I just need to finish all of my current projects (and dwindle down my current fabric stash) before I start executing the sketches!

Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

