Navy Blue Sweet-Heart Dress

Hello everyone! This last dress also symbolizes the last wedding for Trey and I this year! This last wedding was one of Trey’s best friends I originally was just going to wear a dress that I already had, then Trey decided to change his suit last minute. So just like everything I do, this dress was made the night before and took me 4 hours.

Photo Sep 12, 3 30 33 PM (1)

There is a sweat heart shape in a solid navy blue underneath the cool navy blue silky print. I really love this dress. I got all the fabric from Joann’s; and I got the zipper from wawak.com (for only $0.76!!)  Don’t forget! You can still get 10% off your next purchase from wawak when using my code WSAM915.

SamsSignatureSeams Corrected 08 14 15

This dress is a miss mosh of different patterns and views of each pattern.  The top section is from McCall’s 6893; this is a super cute dress pattern, but I really didn’t like the idea of just gathering the skirt, seemed like the simple way out of things.  I also lowered the neck like a lot compared to what the pattern wanted.  The skirt I used was from McCall’s 6887.

Photo Sep 12, 11 29 57 PM

What I didn’t realize was that the back of the dress top is a semi opened back 🙂 which I was really pleased when I found that out.  I had problems with the hook and eye on the top, so I but a bigger one on instead and still had a problem.  Instead of doing a snap (like I probably should have done) I just took my pliers and tightened the hook.

Photo Sep 12, 4 20 34 PM

Here is me and Trey again so you can get a different view of the dress 🙂  I really like how it all turned out!  And yes, that is the evenstar from Lord of the Rings.  Trey got it for me for our 1 year/christmas/birthday present.  We have been together for almost 4 years now 🙂

Have you guys had any cute last minute great turn outs??

HAPPY CRAFTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

