From Sketch to Dress!

Hey Everyone!  So this dress I have just been so excited to share with you all!  This is my first dress EVER to make completely from scratch with no pattern.  My friend Jill sent me a pinterest picture of a really cute asymmetrical dress that she really wanted and wondered if I could make it for her.  Of course I said yes!

Bust photo of designer dress

I’ll give you the finished look first!  I designed completely from my manikin, and I even made my own pattern for this dress, but just in her size though.  But this whole pattern drafting and designing was so exciting and really fun.  The best part of it all was, IT FITS HER FREAKING AMAZINGLY!

Sketch of Custom Maxi Dress

When I went in for my first consultation appointment I came in with this sketch ready to go, and she loved it!  So after she approved the sketch, we then went online to buy fabric.  I already had given her my favorite websites to buy my fabric at so we just went through her pre-saved pages of fabric ideas.

Full front photo of my designer dress

Here is the full length of the dress.  It looks just amazing, if I do say so myself.  The fabric is super soft and a jersey knit, which I made the inside softer by making a lining for the bust so that no inner seams would show.

The bodice has loose gathers for the front to give her some room, and in the back there are pleats.  The skirt also is gathered in at the waistline so that it gives more of a fuller skirt look and drapes away just slightly from her hips.

The back of my first custom dress

Here is a photo of the back!  I made this dress extra long at first because she is just like me and is super tall, and she wanted to be able to wear this dress with heels.  I am so excited for her to wear this dress out on the town; and for her to have an excuse to have a date night with her husband!

What do you all think?!? I am absolutely in love with it!!  It really gives me great hopes for my first design to turn out so well!

Have you ever done a sketch to dress or outfit?  How did it turn out?! Let me know!

4 thoughts on “From Sketch to Dress!

  1. Pingback: Floral Maxi Dress | Sams Signature Seams

  2. Pingback: Floral Maxi Dress | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

