Trey’s Super Cool Embroidered Robe!

Hello Everyone!  So here is my boyfriends super cool robe!  We will get back to that in a minute, but first lets see his embroidered initials!

Side Initials

Yes, you heard me EMBROIDERED!  I will like to introduce you all to the newest machine in my collection:

TADAAAA71gXA1fXxYL._SL1500_

My Singer Embroidery Machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Isn’t she just adorable!!  I would like to think so.  She was my present to myself for graduating for college!  Why I picked her:

1. She was in my price range ($300-$500)

2. She is able to be hooked up to my computer so I can do custom designs

3. She isn’t tied down to only Disney characters

4. She has pretty decent reviews

5. She has a large (5.5×5.5) and small (######) hoop

Okay, okay, I already have a couple things that I don’t like about her, but they can be worked around.  I thought I would be able to connect her straight to my computer; however, she instead has a flash drive that goes back and forth.  No big deal.  I just need to get used to the singer studio software.

So May 13 is my boyfriends birthday and I wanted to make him something really nice.  (even though it was delayed (Finals)).

Full Robe

Fabric:  In the end the black satin is from Fabric.com and the blue is from moodfabric.com.  However, I am very displeased with fabric.com lately.  They keep cutting my fabric at an angle on one side, I am essentially loosing 1/4 of the fabric I bought.  Is anyone else having this issue?  So I ended up buying the blue from mood because the blue fabric.com gave my couldn’t fit the whole robe pattern piece because of the bad cutting job.  If only it was a cut 1 not 2!!

Mid Section Robe

Pattern:  I used a new-to-me Kwik Sew robe pattern. This was a really easy pattern to make.  It only took me about 4 hours to make. The pattern pieces are not in the normal tissue paper, its as thick as real paper.  I just think its harder to work with normal paper thickness because it has mare of a stiffness when I cut and move them around after they have all been cut.

Side Initials

EMBROIDERY!!!!:  I am so excited that I finally made something with my embroidery machine!  She has been just sitting around on my desk for a week and a half looking sadly over her shoulder at me.  I used the singer software that comes with the machine to embroider Trey’s initials in the custom font.  I’m really happy with how they turned out!

I really am happy with the overall presentation of this robe 🙂  He likes it too!~ The only thing I would do differently next time is make it with silk or some soft and cuddly fabric.  But because this is his first robe, and we like to live in a land of luxury (or as best as we can on a just out of college budget) I figured I would pamper him.   He deserves it 😉

What do you guys think!?

Do you have an embroidery machine?? If so which one??

HAPPY CRAFTING!!!!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Trey’s Super Cool Embroidered Robe!

Leave a Reply

