Winter Wonderland Skirt Refashion

YAY Thanksgiving Break is finally here!! I figured that I would kick it off with a new wintertime skirt! I always love white skirts in the winter with black or brown leggings. I don’t know why, but it always makes me think of hot coco. 😀

I figured I would have my own try at some refashions because I have been lurking on multiple refashion blogs lately. So this is what this Winter Wonderland Skirt started as:

IMG_1998

You all know Lord of the Rings right? Well back in grade school I was Lady Galadriel for Halloween one year. I normally would have worn the dress… but I can no longer fit into it without harming myself or the fabric, so here it is hanging instead!

IMG_1999

Here is a close up of the fabric, pretty right!

IMG_2014

First thing’s first, the pattern I choose was another old Buttrick pattern, as shown above, that I received as a gift from my friend. I choose look B because I have never used this pattern before so I didn’t want to risk having a bad pencil skirt that I never wore. Not to mention that I already have several pencil skirts lined up in my sewing que. I didn’t want it to be a long skirt, so I shortened it to my knees. I found that this pattern was very easy, I just always suck at waistbands of all assortments. It is my kryptonite.

IMG_2005

Here is the pattern all cut out and just chillin’ on my coffee table waiting to be sewn.

IMG_2013

Sorry I realized I didn’t really get any pictures of me sewing the actual garment. But here it is finished with a belt! Because I really don’t like the way elastic looks unless finished a special way of some sort.

IMG_2015

Here is a better or not as blurry picture of the skirt! I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. Because of how sheer the fabric is I made a lining for it, but I forgot to not attach the lining to the outer fabric so I feel that caused the bottom to not look exactly the way that I really wanted it to look. But it isn’t bad. I just need to iron it, that will make the hem look cleaner.

IMG_2012

The best part about this skirt is that IT HAS POCKETS!!!!!!! I love skirts and pants that have pockets, it makes things convenient! Normally I would have made this skirt shorter or just a bit more above my knee, but college is almost over and I figured that I could wear this to work one day. 🙂

Over all I think that it is a very easy pattern, it really only took me less than two hours including cut out time. I would recommend that if you use this pattern you go a size lower or you ignore adding an extra inch to the elastic band in the waist.

Does anyone have a good trick with waistlines? I think I’m just too impatient with them. Share below your tips for waistlines!

Happy Crafting!!

2 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland Skirt Refashion

Leave a Reply

