Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume

HERE IS THE COSTUME WE HAVE ALL BEEN WAITING FOR!!! I have made my friend Julie a Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume!! Let me tell you it has been a journey, but a great one! I am so excited to share this with all of you!

Below is the photo that I based this all off of.

pungopungodaeneryss4crossover

It all started back when my friend Julie asked me to make her costume and when I was bored at work I sketched and made a detailed plan (sketch shown below). Please pardon my bad drawing skills, I’m not the best sketcher.

IMG_3356

OKAY! So next up on the Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume is the shoulders, I figured that this would be the parts that do the least amount of damage and it was a quick section of the dress.

IMG_1889

IMG_1891

Here they are!! The shoulders I think that it is super cute how the layering turned out, it really looks like dragon scales. But to get to this point, I made a pattern for each of the three “scales” and cut them out and serged them. There is two layers of fabrics, the first is this cute blue for the base, and the other is this sparkly mesh fabric that gives it a really neat texture to, once again, make it more dragon esk.

IMG_1930

Back

IMG_1929

Front

Sorry for the messy college kitchen… We just had some really good friends stay over at our place for the weekend. BUT anyway, here you can see the general outline of the Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume really take form. How I put the whole thing together is with this outline and it being made like double sided bias tape. I hate ironing and making my own bias tape, I have done it for several other projects and this is the third time doing it, and it tries my impatient patients. I made this bias tape out of the same duo of fabrics that I did for the shoulders. GLITTER EVERYWHERE, the boyfriend got very upset.

So I forgot to take pictures of the steps where I made the bra coverings, but I kept deviating from my original plan anyway so actually putting all of the changes into this would just be confusing.

IMG_1932

This is my version of adding pleats into chiffon fabric. With this step I found something I have a stronger dislike for than bias tape. Ironing in all of the pleats took 2 hours because I have a baby ironing board so I kept on having to move the skirt down and around. IF ANYONE HAS AN EASIER WAY OF PLEATING CHIFFON PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE SHARE IT WITH ME!!!!!!!!!!! I would love to learn the proper ways.

IMG_1934

Here is the Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume with everything all pinned into place. This is before I shoved the skirt into the bias tape criss-cross section. The breast section is on its 3rd round of alterations, it still has about 5 more to go through. Just various darts and things to make it fit and form to her better.

Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume

I am really proud of the outcome, of course there is always room for improvements 😀

10710539_10205190887234859_6468918742255438823_n

AND ANOTHER PHOTO!! Thanks Julie for the photos!

1471740_10205190859914176_1222751678787310590_n

Here is an awesome close up!

Here she is, Julie with her completed Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume!!!!!!! She got a wig and a little dragon that sits on her shoulder. I will post more pictures once she gives them to me. Sadly I didn’t get the change to go out and party with her that night 😥 BUT let me know what you guys think! Like I said I will be adding more photos of her once she gives them to me. WOHOO!!!! Done and Done!

HAPPY CRAFTING!

4 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume

  1. Pingback: UPDATE!!!! Game of Thrones Daenerys Targaryen Costume | Sams Signature Seams

  2. Pingback: Signature Weekly *WEEK 1* | Sams Signature Seams

Leave a Reply

