Serger Tips and Tricks!

I am so happy with my new serger (Brother 1034D 3 or 4 Thread Serger)! She is absolutely perfect!

DSC00273

Watching True Blood in the background with Trey 🙂

She came already threaded, which was awesome because that was the part that I was most nervous about because I remember watching my mom battle the machine while threading it.

Tip and Trick #1 PLUS to change the spools, all that you have to do is to cut the thread that is in the machine just above the spool, tie a knot to the new spool, and pull it through. For the first two strings, you cut the knot before the needle eye and thread the needle. For the loppers all you do is keep on pulling 🙂 Super easy!

DSC00274

I love how everything is color coordinated, it makes threading the machine very user-friendly and kinda fun, just as long as you are not angry because the thread broke on you… again.

DSC00275

Here she is again after I changed the threads and started up on my “seriously why am I a nice person and take on big projects” project.

I also watched both DVD’s that came with the serger and decided to make myself my own personal cheat sheet! So I figured I would help anyone else out if they ran into problems 🙂

Some of these to the advanced serger will probably seem really simple. But I wish I could have learned this as I was going through and purchasing mine! Without any further or do, here are some serger tips and tricks!

Trouble Shooting Your Serger

  • If the stitching loops are more on the back side of the fabric then you need to make sure you check to make sure your tension disks are engaged, and if they are then you will need to loosen the tension in your lower looper.
  • If your loops are meeting on the front side of your fabric, then you need to make sure that once again that the upper looper tension disks are engaged. If they are then you need to loosen the tension in your upper looper.
  • If you fabric is puckering at all and being wavy when it is not the desired effect, then you need to check your two needle tensions.
  • With the heavier weight fabric make sure that you increase the needle thread tensions and with lighter weight fabric, you loosen the needle thread tensions.

Cool Things About My Serger

I’m sure that other sergers have this option but I don’t want to assume and give people false information. One thing that I thought was really cool is that my serger has a foot pressure knob! I think that this is awesome because with my basic sewing machine I always had problems with my knit fabrics looking stretched out when I’m not paying attention and sewing on auto pilot.

My serger also has a lot of cool stitch stretch and width settings that can be adjusted on the side of the machine! To the advanced serger people out there, I know this is all basic stuff but it is so cool and fun to discover!

3-Thread Over-lock Stitch

  • If you want a narrow 3 thread over-lock stitch, which is great for light fabric, then you remove the left thread (&/or) needle associated with it.
  • If you want a wide 3 thread over-lock stitch, then you remove the right thread (&/or) needle

So the reason as to why I am adding just this one stitch and not the blind hem or rolled hem, is because one of my stupid threads broke (the one with the right needle) and I freaked out. But then I realized that everything was going to be okay because it is just a 3-thread stitch!

I am really looking forward to playing around more with my serger and making a little “stitch diary” as it were. I’ll keep you posted on the coolest new discovery! 😀 SOO EXCITED!!

My Me! (My Dress Form)

DSC00276

Here she is! She only arrived a day later than I thought, and she is already set to my size 🙂 I cannot wait to start designing with her. Sadly because we (Trey and I) have such a small apartment, she has to be put away in her box every night, but I just love being able to say I have a dress form now!

DSC00278She also has a hem measuring thing. 🙂 Yay being very technical in terminology!

I just powered through soo many of these costumes that I volunteered to make, but sadly they still aren’t done. HOWEVER now with the serger it is going by so much faster! I just can’t talk enough about my new toy 😛 Eventually I will continue on with my hopefully normal program with posting cool projects, but until then, I’ll be making some kinda cool articles about sergers.

I’ll post more of the different stitches as I come across them and I will be sure to take pictures 🙂

What serger do you have!? And what is your favorite stitch to use?

Happy Crafting!

3 thoughts on “Serger Tips and Tricks!

  1. Hi, I just purchased this serger and am waiting for it to be delivered. I have been sewing for decades and have not used a serger before. I am getting the serger because I am a caregiver for a disabled person and we want to save some money by repairing her tricot nightgowns that she lives in. The hem on the nightgowns breaks and eventually the fabric tears, so I thought a serger would be the best thing to get because the repairs from my sewing machine just couldn’t do the job. Would you recommend an overlock stitch edge or a rolled hem?

    Like

    • I think that for all of the normal seams you can just use the overlock stitch and then for the hem the rolled hem will add a lot more strength to the garment. There is a booklet and two DVDs that come with the serger that are really helpful, so even if you are a beginner it makes it super easy to learn! Just a quick tip though. Always keep a scrap of fabric to test out whenever you fix a broken thread or whenever you re thread the machine. That’ll make sure you don’t mess up the actual garment. Another tip is that if you keep trying to fix a thread but the stitch still isn’t right, then just re-thread the whole thing. That will always fix the problem. 🙂 what’s awesome about this machine is that it comes pre threaded so in order to change threads all you have to do is cut them, tie a knot, and pull them through!! There is a section on that in the booklet and in the DVDs!

      I hope you have fun serging!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

